The Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award was first presented in 1991. Established with an endowment by Thomas Head Raddall himself, and with ongoing support from the Raddall family, this award honours the work of fiction writers in the Atlantic region and, as the original benefactor envisioned, provides “the gift of time and peace of mind” so essential to the creation of new work. 


2018: Oisin Curran, Blood Fable, Book*hug

2017: Donna Morrissey, The Fortunate Brother

2016: RW Gray, Entropic
NeWest Press


2015: Darren Greer, Just Beneath My Skin.
Cormorant Books


2014: William Kowalski, The Hundred Hearts.

2013: Russell Wangersky, Whirl Away. 

2012: David Adams Richards, Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul.
Doubleday Canada.

 2011: Kathleen Winter, Annabel

2010: Shandi Mitchell, Under This Unbroken Sky.
Viking Canada.

2009: Douglas Arthur Brown, Quintet.
Key Porter Books.

2008: Don Hannah, Ragged Islands.
Knopf Canada.

2007: Linda Little, Scotch River.
Penguin Canada.

2006: Donna Morrissey, Sylvanus Now.
Penguin Canada.

2005: Edward Riche, The Nine Planets.
Viking Canada.

2004: Kenneth J. Harvey, The Town that Forgot How to Breathe.
Raincoast Books.

2003: Donna Morrissey, Downhill Chance.
Penguin Canada.

2002: Michael Crummey, River Thieves.
Doubleday Canada.

2001: Carol Bruneau, Purple for Sky.
Cormorant Books (Published in the United States as A Purple Thread for Sky by Carroll & Graff.).

2000: Alistair MacLeod, No Great Mischief.
McClelland & Stewart.

1999: Wayne Johnston, The Colony of Unrequited Dreams.
Knopf Canada.

1998: Shree Ghatage, Awake When All the World is Asleep.
House of Anansi.

1997: Alfred Silver, Acadia.
Ballantine Books.

1996: M. T. Dohaney, A Marriage of Masks.
Ragweed Press.

1995: Bernice Morgan, Waiting for Time.
Breakwater Books.

1994: David Adams Richards, For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down.
McClelland and Stewart.

1993: John Steffler, The Afterlife of George Cartwright.
McClelland and Stewart.

1992: Herb Curtis, The Last Tasmanian.
Goose Lane Editions.

1991: Wayne Johnston, The Divine Ryans.
McClelland and Stewart.