The Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award was first presented in 1978. It is named in honour of Evelyn Richardson, who in 1945 won the Governor General’s Non-Fiction Award for We Keep A Light, her memoir of life in a family of lighthouse keepers in Shelburne County. The $2,000 prize goes to a Nova Scotia writer of non-fiction. 


2018: John DeMont, The Long Way Home, A Personal History of Nova Scotia
McClelland & Stewart

2017: Erin Wunker, Notes from a Feminist Killjoy

2016: Gary Saunders, My Life With Trees
Gaspereau Press

2015: Kaleigh Trace, Hot, Wet & Shaking: How I Learned to Talk About Sex.
Invisible Publishing

2014: Stephen Kimber, What Lies Across the Water: The Real Story of the Cuban Five.
Fernwood Publishing 

2013: Steven Laffoley, Shadowboxing 
Pottersfield Press

2012: Harry Thurston, The Atlantic Coast: A Natural History.
Greystone Books and the David Suzuki Foundation.

2011: Laura Penny, More Money Than Brains: Why Schools Suck, College is Crap, and Idiots Think They're Right.
McClelland & Stewart.

2010: John DeMont, Coal Black Heart: The Story of Coal and the Lives it Ruled.
Doubleday Canada.

2009: William B. Naftel, Halifax at War: Searchlights, Squadrons, and Submarines 1939-1945.

2008: Marq de Villiers, The Witch in the Wind: The True Story of the Legendary Bluenose.
Thomas Allen Publishers.

2007: Linden MacIntyre, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence.
McClelland & Stewart.

2006: Linda Johns, Birds of a Feather: Tales of a Wild Bird Haven.
Goose Lane Editions.

2005: Marq de Villiers and Sheila Hirtle, A Dune Adrift.
McClelland & Stewart.

2004: Harry Thurston, Island of the Blessed: the Secrets of Egypt's Everlasting Oasis.
Doubleday Canada.

2003: Stephen Kimber, Sailors, Slackers and Blind Pigs: Halifax at War.
Penguin Canada.

2002: Kent Thompson, Getting Out of Town by Book and Bike.
Gaspereau Press.

2001: Joan Baxter, A Serious Pair of Shoes: An African Journal.
Pottersfield Press.

2000: Robin Metcalfe, Studio Rally.
Goose Lane Editions.

1999: Silver Donald Cameron, The Living Beach.
Macmillan Canada.

1998: Harry Bruce, An Illustrated History of Nova Scotia.
Nimbus Publishing.

1997: Harry Thurston, The Nature of Shorebirds: Nomads of the Wetlands.
Greystone Books (A division of Douglas & McIntyre).

1996: Simone Poirier-Bures, That Shining Place.
Oberon Press.

1995: Elizabeth Pacey, Landmarks: Historic Buildings of Nova Scotia.
Nimbus Publishing.

1994: Peter Brock, Variations on a Planet.
Pottersfield Press.

1993: Sally Ross and Alphonse Deveau, The Acadians of Nova Scotia: Past and Present.
Nimbus Publishing.

1992: Robert Pope, Illness and Healing: Images of Cancer.
Lancelot Press.

1991: Harry Thurston, Tidal Life: a Natural History of the Bay of Fundy.
Camden House.

1990: Judith Fingard, The Dark Side of Life in Victorian Halifax.
Pottersfield Press.

1989: Dean Jobb, Shades of Justice: Seven Nova Scotia Murder Cases.
Nimbus Publishing.

1988: Harold Horwood, Dancing on the Shore: A Celebration of Life at Annapolis Basin.
McClelland and Stewart.

1987: Tony Foster, Meeting of Generals.

1986: P. B. Waite, The Man from Halifax: Sir John Thompson, Prime Minister.
University of Toronto Press.

1985: Lilias M. Toward, Mabel Bell: Alexander's Silent Partner.

1984: Brian C. Cuthbertson, The Loyalist Governor: A Biography of Sir John Wentworth.

1983: J. Murray Beck, Joseph Howe: Volume 1, Conservative Reformer, 1804-1848.
 McGill-Queen's University Press

1982: Bruce Armstrong, Sable Island.
Doubleday Canada.

1981: Kay Hill, Joe Howe: The Man Who Was Nova Scotia.
McClelland and Stewart.

1980: Joan and L.J. Payzant, Like a Weaver's Shuttle: A History of the Halifax-Dartmouth Ferries.
Nimbus Publishing.

1979: Alden Nowlan, Double Exposure.

1978: Harry Bruce, Lifeline: The Story of the Atlantic Ferries and Coastal Boats.