The J.M. Abraham Poetry Award was created by the writing community in the late 1990s. The Writers' Federation of Nova Scotia, with the assistance of several poets, publishers, and post-secondary institutions, raised funds for an annual award program designed to honour the best book of poetry by an Atlantic Canadian. The Award was first presented in 1998. In 2014, the Award was named for the legacy of J.M. Abraham.   


2018: Julia McCarthy, All the Names Between (Brick Books)

2017: Jennifer Houle, The Back Channels (Signature Editions)

2016: Sue Goyette, The Brief Reincarnation of a Girl
Gaspereau Press 

2015: Susan Paddon, Two Tragedies in 429 Breaths.
Brick Books.

2014: Don Domanski, Bite Down Little Whisper. 
Brick Books.

2013: Lesley Choyce, I’m Alive. I Believe in Everything. 
Breton Books.

2012: Sue Goyette, outskirts.
Brick Books.

2011: John Steffler, Lookout.
McClelland & Stewart.

2010: Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen, Lean-To.
Gaspereau Press.

2009: Brent MacLaine, Shades of Green.
Acorn Press.

2008: Don Domanski, All Our Wonder Unavenged.
Brick Books.

2007: Steve McOrmond, Primer on the Hereafter.
Wolsak & Wynn.

2006: Anne Compton, Processional.
Fitzhenry & Whiteside.

2005: David Helwig, The Year One.
Gaspereau Press.

2004: Brian Bartlett, Wanting the Day.
Goose Lane Editions.

2003: Anne Compton, Opening the Island.
Fitzhenry & Whiteside.

2002: M. Travis Lane, Keeping Afloat.

2001: Anne Simpson, Light Falls Through You.
McClelland & Stewart.

2000: Ken Babstock, Mean.

1999: John Steffler, That Night We Were Ravenous.
McClelland & Stewart.

1998: Carmelita McGrath, To the New World.
Killick Press.